2014 VMFL / VCFL Starbowl

The Best Of The Best Hit The Field

The 2014 edition of the VMFL/VCFL Starbowl may have lacked the traditional mainland versus the valley rivalry that was the hallmark of previous contests, but there was no shortage of on-field intensity.  Under mostly sunny skies at McLeod Athletic Park in Langley, the large enthusiastic crowds were treated to three competitive games that were enhanced by a large screen broadcast that provided replays of all the significant action.

The integrated team format was applied to all divisions for the first time this year, with each team representing a mix of VMFL and VCFL players and coaching staff.  MVPs were selected for each of the teams by their coaching staffs, with the exception of the Midget Division, where selections were made by Larry Reda, President, Football BC and Gerry Mullis, scout and advisor to to Football BC.

2014-04-12-019-Man Bantam
Mean Machine (26) vs. Mainland Marauders (15)

MVPs as selected by the coaches:
Mean Machine
Outstanding lineman – Tariq Lopez – Richmond Raiders
Defensive  Player – Ricky Reed – Vancouver Trojans
Offensive Player – Luca Gill – Coquitlam Chargers
MVP – Spencer O’Brien – WRSS Titans

Mainland Marauders
Outstanding lineman – Scott Glodie – Richmond Raiders
Defensive Player – Sam Talbot – Richmond Raiders
Offensive Player – Dominic Winter – Vancouver Trojans
MVP – Dade Motz – Coquitlam Chargers

2014-04-12-3012-Man Bantam
Northeastern Dawgs (0) vs.  Hawks (14)

MVPs as selected by the coaches
Outstanding lineman – Manraj Bains – Langley Mustangs
Defensive Player – Brandon White – Comox Raiders
Offensive Player – Cam Lampart – Chilliwack
MVP – Ryan Beauchamp – Comox Raiders

Outstanding lineman – Wyatt Bates – South Delta Rams
Defensive Player – Kwaku Frimpong – North Delta Longhorns
Offensive Player – Gabe Saklosky – North Delta Longhorns
MVP – Ryan VonEnde – South Delta Rams


Red Rockets (26) vs. Ream Team (6)

MVPs as Selected by Larry Reda President of Football BC and Gerry Mullis scout and advisor to Football BC
Red Rockets
Outstanding Lineman – Clayton Frolich – Langley Stampeders
Defensive Player – Connor Griffiths – Langley Stampeders
Offensive Player – Devon Hallums – North Surrey Bears
MVP – Brad Atkinson – Langley Stampeders

Ream Team
Outstanding lineman – Chae-Cody Fraikney – Nanaimo Redman
Defensive Player – Brock Gowanlock – Cowichan Bulldogs
Offensive Player – Keenan Gooden – Chilliwack Giants
MVP – RJ Begg – Chilliwack Giants


Outstanding player awards for the 2013 midget regular season were also distributed prior to the start of the midget Starbowl game.  Recipients were as follows:

Thanks to all of the players, coaches, trainers, managers and other volunteers who assisted with preparing the teams.  Thanks as well to Wayne McMurchy and the volunteers with Langley Minor Football for being such gracious hosts and providing the facility for the games.  Special thanks to Shane Thompson for the tremendous amount of work and effort put into coordinating an outstanding Starbowl again this year.

Photos: Media 2014