Spring Flag 2014

As we start the new year it means it’s time for the fast growing Spring Flag Football program to start up a new season.

Spring Flag is a five on five non-contact flag football game that runs in the VMFL during the months of April and May. Each team comprises of around six to eight players and games are played over five weekends with each weekend consisting of multiple games during the day.

After the five weekends teams head to the provincial championships in Kelowna which take place over a full weekend in May.  Age groups are from U10 up to U19.

Important Dates:

April 13: Referee’s training clinic – Langley  McLeod Stadium – time 2 pm
April 14: Referee’s training clinic – SFU football locker room 6 pm
April 16: Referee’s training clinic – Vancouver College 6 pm
May 16: Registration of BC Provincials in Kelowna

The 2014 Schedule is as follows:
April 27
Coquitlam – Coquitlam Towncentre

May 4
North Delta – John Oliver Park

May 11
New West – Mercer Stadium

May 25
Richmond – Hugh Boyd Park

May 31
Chilliwack – Townsend Park

June 7/8
Spring Flag Champs: Kelowna – Capital News Center

Forms / Documents:

2014_FBC_Spring_Flag_Team_Registration_Form (Excel)
2014_VMFL_Spring_Flag_Team_Registration_Form (Excel)
2014_VMFL_Spring_Flag_Jersey_Order_Form (Excel)
2014 FBC Membership Fees (Word)

Coaches: Check out Jay Prepchuk’s video on Coaching QB’s on the Coach Resources page



Every year in February the VMFL holds it’s annual AGM where the current executive members wrap up their year and an election is held to wave in the new executive members.

For the 2014 year Valder Belgrave will return for his second year as President of the VMFL.  Other returning members include Mel Beaton (Vice President), Doug Pauls (Director) and Shane Thompson (Director).

New to the executive will be Coquitlam President Paul Lancaster (Director) and Gordan Francis (Director).  Two other names were submitted with written letters of agreement to stand and were nominated and they will be added next executive meeting.

As well the past executive hands out last years awards and scholarships including the following:

  • Builder Award (for long time contribution to community football) – Joe Connelly, North Surrey Minor Football
  • Coach of the Year – Sean Roden, Football Nanaimo and Team BC U16
  • Midget Scholarship – Gurjot Bain, Langley
  • Bantam Scholarship  – Charlie Moore, South Delta
  • Cheer Scholarship – Lena Downey,  North Delta